Advertisements

Fall Reads 2017

Fall Reads 2017

September 22 / 17

Happy, Happy Friday! First day of Fall. My second favorite time of the year. That means it’s time to see what good books are there for Fall 2017. I read an article from Elle, 27 Best New Fall Books to Read this Fall by Estelle Tang. Here are only ten, the rest you can click on the link above.


Credit source: Elle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

<p>This tale of how Chez Panisse came to be must be as close to an origin story as modern American culinary culture&nbsp;could have. Legendary chef Alice Waters tells her own story, which is one of '60s counterculture, rebellion, passion, and—of course—the sheer pleasure of food.&nbsp;(<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Coming-My-Senses-Making-Counterculture-ebook/dp/B01MRWE0A4" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 5, Clarkson Potter</a>)</p>

 

 

 

 

 

<p>One of the central lessons of the 2016 election and its aftermath was that America is divided: in its beliefs, in its media, and in its experiences. Writers including <a href="http://www.elle.com/culture/a45920/roxane-gay-profile-hunger-memoir/" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">Roxane Gay</a>, Edwidge Danticat, Joyce Carol Oates, and more&nbsp;survey our troubled times, telling real stories about the America they live in. (<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Tales-Two-Americas-Stories-Inequality-ebook/dp/B01NCZ3ITB" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 5, Penguin Books</a>)</p>

<p>Joanna Walsh's stories have earned praise from <em data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="em">I Love Dick</em><span class="redactor-invisible-space" data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="span" data-redactor-class="redactor-invisible-space"> author Chris Kraus, practically the bat signal for experimental-fiction dabblers; and&nbsp;their brevity and witty curiosity make them perfect for fans of Lydia Davis. Take the one-page tale that investigates the mysterious symbol&nbsp;"x" ("his initial or a term of endearment," the narrator ponders), or the abrupt epistles from a disgruntled traveler in "Postcards from Two Hotels." (<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Worlds-Words-End-Joanna-Walsh-ebook/dp/B06XCHZMZT/" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 7, And Other Stories</a>)</span></p>

<p>The&nbsp;duality of presidential hopeful Hillary Clinton's book title&nbsp;seems to weigh&nbsp;twice as heavily as business, political, and&nbsp;religious leaders publicly reconsider their support of Trump and white supremacists double down on theirs. We do know some of what transpired during&nbsp;Clinton's&nbsp;unsuccessful political bid, but&nbsp;those still wondering what&nbsp;<em data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="em">did&nbsp;</em><span class="redactor-invisible-space" data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="span" data-redactor-class="redactor-invisible-space">happen behind the scenes will want to read her account of those fateful months. (<a href="https://www.amazon.com/What-Happened-Hillary-Rodham-Clinton-ebook/dp/B01MYE7QP0" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 12, Simon &amp; Schuster</a>)</span></p>

<p>Celeste Ng enchanted readers with her debut novel about the unexpected death of a teenage Chinese-American girl,&nbsp;<em data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="em">Everything I Never Told You</em><span class="redactor-invisible-space" data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="span" data-redactor-class="redactor-invisible-space"><em data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="em">.</em><span class="redactor-invisible-space" data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="span" data-redactor-class="redactor-invisible-space"> Now she returns with another tale of a quiet town slowly devastated by mystery, this time in Cleveland's Shaker Heights, where the arrival of a&nbsp;single mother and her daughter&nbsp;begin to complicate the decisions of the families around them.&nbsp;(<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Everything-Never-Told-You-Awards-ebook/dp/B00G3L7V0C" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 12, Penguin Press</a>)</span></span></p>

<p>A story of a woman and her dog. Poet Eileen Myles pays tribute to her pitbull, Rosie, in this memoir covering the 16 years of her canine companion's life. But this is no <em data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="em">Marley and Me</em><span class="redactor-invisible-space" data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="span" data-redactor-class="redactor-invisible-space">; Myles' storytelling is as unconventional and allusive as ever, ranging from an imaginary talk show featuring Rosie as a guest to the more quotidian joys of loving an animal.&nbsp;</span>(<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Afterglow-dog-memoir-Eileen-Myles-ebook/dp/B074N8FYHM" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 12, Grove Press</a>)</p>

 

<p>Who could be a better literary companion than a Spanish princess who grew up in exile, endured a loveless marriage, and crossed the seas to the United States (to publish her scandalous autobiography, of course)? The defiant, adventurous spirit of Eulalia gleams throughout this historical novel, based on a real woman&nbsp;who lived in the late 19th century.&nbsp;(<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Living-Infinite-Novel-Chantel-Acevedo-ebook/dp/B01N6N1OCP" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 12, Europa Editions</a>)</p>

Plenty of good books to keep you busy this autumn, I see a few that interests me. Enjoy your Friday, be blessed.

 

 

 

Image source: Elle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Spring Reads 2017

Spring Reads 2017

March 21 / 17

Spring is officially here. That means it’s time for Spring Read 2017. Found twelve that just may interest you….


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lincoln in the Bardo – George Saunders

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Refugees – Viet Thanh Nguyen

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Child – Fiona Barton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amberlough: A Novel – Lara Elena Donnelly

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Devil Crept In – Ania Ahlborn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Stars Are Legion – Kameron Hurley

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Most Beautiful: My Life With Prince – Mayte Garcia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Reckless Daughter: A Portrait of Joni Mitchell – David Yaffe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Otis Redding: An Unfinished Life – Jonathon Gould

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unwanted Advances: Sexual Paranoia Comes to Campus – Laura Kipris

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Best Land Under Heaven: The Donner Party in the Age of Manifest Destiny – Michael Wallis

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

South & West: From a Notebook – Joan Didion

 

 

There are more books out there. You can go to GoodReads, Amazon, and other sites to find your Spring time read. Enjoy the rest of your Wednesday, be blessed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

featured images: Wallup.net, amazon.com, amazon.com.uk, & goodreads.com

 

SUMMER BOOK READS 2016

SUMMER BOOK READS 2016

July 2016

Hello, yeah I’m late with what books to read for the summer, but I can surely make that up! I hope you enjoy the list……


 

 

 

 

Underground Airlines – Ben H. Winters

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enchanted Islands – Allison Amend

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Smoke – Dan Vyleta

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Redemption Road – John Hart

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Without the Moon – Cathi Unsworth

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cousin Joseph – Jules Feiffer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You Will Know Me – Megan Abbott

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Little Pieces of You & Me – Vanessa Greene

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Forgotten Summer – Carol Drinkwater

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Show Me A Mountain – Kerry Young

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Learning to Speak American – Colette Dartford

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Crash – Toby Vintcent

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Black Rabbit Hall – Eve Chase

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dead to Me – Lesley Pearse

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

featured & other images: wizzed.com,sfgatte.com, allisonamend.com, goodreads.com, johnhartfiction.com, independent.co.uk, amazon.com, ew.com, bookdepository.com, frenchvillagediarie.com, bloomsbury.com, twitter.com, lesleypearse.com

Winter Reading……

Winter Reading……

12.20.15

Afternoon creative peeps! Winter is or already has arrived and it’s time to find some great books that are out there for us to pour over. I put together twelve books that I think may tickle your reading eyes…..


 

WINTER READING

 

 

 

 

 

Between the World & MeTa-Nensi Coats (suggested by actor Lee Pace!)

 

 

 

 

 

Purity – Jonathan Franzen

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Heart Goes Last – Margaret Atwood

 

 

 

 

 

 

Slade House – David Mitchell

 

 

 

 

 

Fates & Furies – Lauren Groff

 

 

 

 

 

Two Years Eight Months & Twenty – Eight Nights – Salman Rushdie

 

 

 

 

 

 

Armada – Ernest Cline

 

 

 

 

 

The Marriage of Opposites – Alice Hoffman

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wind/Pinball: Two Novels – Haruki Murakami 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

City on Fire – Garth Risk Hallberg

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States – Sarah Vowell

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Tsar of Love and Techno – Anthony Marra

 

 

 

Six of these books will be featured on the right of the blog. There are more books out there. Go to Amazon, Barnes & Nobles, Goodreads or any other site to find out what books you could be reading for the holidays. Enjoy…..

 

 

 

 

 

feature image & photos cred: wallpapers.com, books.google.com, barnesandnobles.com, amazon.com, slasherfilm. and com, npr.org.