Advertisements

Fall Reads 2017

Fall Reads 2017

September 22 / 17

Happy, Happy Friday! First day of Fall. My second favorite time of the year. That means it’s time to see what good books are there for Fall 2017. I read an article from Elle, 27 Best New Fall Books to Read this Fall by Estelle Tang. Here are only ten, the rest you can click on the link above.


Credit source: Elle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

<p>This tale of how Chez Panisse came to be must be as close to an origin story as modern American culinary culture&nbsp;could have. Legendary chef Alice Waters tells her own story, which is one of '60s counterculture, rebellion, passion, and—of course—the sheer pleasure of food.&nbsp;(<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Coming-My-Senses-Making-Counterculture-ebook/dp/B01MRWE0A4" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 5, Clarkson Potter</a>)</p>

 

 

 

 

 

<p>One of the central lessons of the 2016 election and its aftermath was that America is divided: in its beliefs, in its media, and in its experiences. Writers including <a href="http://www.elle.com/culture/a45920/roxane-gay-profile-hunger-memoir/" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">Roxane Gay</a>, Edwidge Danticat, Joyce Carol Oates, and more&nbsp;survey our troubled times, telling real stories about the America they live in. (<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Tales-Two-Americas-Stories-Inequality-ebook/dp/B01NCZ3ITB" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 5, Penguin Books</a>)</p>

<p>Joanna Walsh's stories have earned praise from <em data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="em">I Love Dick</em><span class="redactor-invisible-space" data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="span" data-redactor-class="redactor-invisible-space"> author Chris Kraus, practically the bat signal for experimental-fiction dabblers; and&nbsp;their brevity and witty curiosity make them perfect for fans of Lydia Davis. Take the one-page tale that investigates the mysterious symbol&nbsp;"x" ("his initial or a term of endearment," the narrator ponders), or the abrupt epistles from a disgruntled traveler in "Postcards from Two Hotels." (<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Worlds-Words-End-Joanna-Walsh-ebook/dp/B06XCHZMZT/" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 7, And Other Stories</a>)</span></p>

<p>The&nbsp;duality of presidential hopeful Hillary Clinton's book title&nbsp;seems to weigh&nbsp;twice as heavily as business, political, and&nbsp;religious leaders publicly reconsider their support of Trump and white supremacists double down on theirs. We do know some of what transpired during&nbsp;Clinton's&nbsp;unsuccessful political bid, but&nbsp;those still wondering what&nbsp;<em data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="em">did&nbsp;</em><span class="redactor-invisible-space" data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="span" data-redactor-class="redactor-invisible-space">happen behind the scenes will want to read her account of those fateful months. (<a href="https://www.amazon.com/What-Happened-Hillary-Rodham-Clinton-ebook/dp/B01MYE7QP0" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 12, Simon &amp; Schuster</a>)</span></p>

<p>Celeste Ng enchanted readers with her debut novel about the unexpected death of a teenage Chinese-American girl,&nbsp;<em data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="em">Everything I Never Told You</em><span class="redactor-invisible-space" data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="span" data-redactor-class="redactor-invisible-space"><em data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="em">.</em><span class="redactor-invisible-space" data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="span" data-redactor-class="redactor-invisible-space"> Now she returns with another tale of a quiet town slowly devastated by mystery, this time in Cleveland's Shaker Heights, where the arrival of a&nbsp;single mother and her daughter&nbsp;begin to complicate the decisions of the families around them.&nbsp;(<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Everything-Never-Told-You-Awards-ebook/dp/B00G3L7V0C" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 12, Penguin Press</a>)</span></span></p>

<p>A story of a woman and her dog. Poet Eileen Myles pays tribute to her pitbull, Rosie, in this memoir covering the 16 years of her canine companion's life. But this is no <em data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="em">Marley and Me</em><span class="redactor-invisible-space" data-verified="redactor" data-redactor-tag="span" data-redactor-class="redactor-invisible-space">; Myles' storytelling is as unconventional and allusive as ever, ranging from an imaginary talk show featuring Rosie as a guest to the more quotidian joys of loving an animal.&nbsp;</span>(<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Afterglow-dog-memoir-Eileen-Myles-ebook/dp/B074N8FYHM" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 12, Grove Press</a>)</p>

 

<p>Who could be a better literary companion than a Spanish princess who grew up in exile, endured a loveless marriage, and crossed the seas to the United States (to publish her scandalous autobiography, of course)? The defiant, adventurous spirit of Eulalia gleams throughout this historical novel, based on a real woman&nbsp;who lived in the late 19th century.&nbsp;(<a href="https://www.amazon.com/Living-Infinite-Novel-Chantel-Acevedo-ebook/dp/B01N6N1OCP" data-tracking-id="recirc-text-link">September 12, Europa Editions</a>)</p>

Plenty of good books to keep you busy this autumn, I see a few that interests me. Enjoy your Friday, be blessed.

 

 

 

Image source: Elle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: